Assistive Technology

Assistive Technology (AT) is any device, piece of equipment or system that helps a person with a disability work around his challenges so he/she can learn, communicate or simply function better. This can include high tech & low tech.

High Tech:

  • Hearing Aids
  • FM Systems
  • Amplifiers

Low Tech:

  • Pencil Grips
  • Alternative Seating in the Classroom
  • Highlighters

I can remember when I was in elementary school one of my classmates using a talking dictionary and spell corrector. It looked like a game to me but it was a device that helped him with vocabulary and spelling. This student was dyslexic and needed extra support with both spelling and vocabulary.  This device improves student’s reading and writing skills as it 44,000 elementary word definitions.  This device also has an automatic phonetic spell corrector. The devices includes a handwriting guide (cursive) and five different word-building games. I was so intrigued with this device that I had my parents get me one. I used it a lot! There were games on it that helped me learn new vocabulary and spelling games. I can remember using it in the car during long car trips. I never thought of it as assistive technology but sure enough the device was helping me learn!!

Leave a Reply

