Using Educational TV in the Classroom

https://www.fcc.gov/consumers/guides/childrens-educational-television

http://www.wgu.edu/blogpost/teaching-strategies-using-educational-television-classroom

I never really thought about the impact television has on the United States. I for sure use it everyday. From Netflix, YouTube videos, regular cable, to regular movies, television has become the one thing that many Americans cannot live without. I remember when I was young I had a child-lock on my television with a set timer for when I was allowed to watch it. I used to watch YouTube and Full House all day long. When it came to the educational stuff, however, my parents always lost me. I never enjoyed watching informational television such as “School House Rock” or “Bill Nye the Science Guy.” As I grew older I began to appreciate how videos allow me to study and make real connections with new material. I am now an avid documentary and independent film watcher. According to the Federal Communications Commission, children in the United States spend more than 3 hours watching television a day. Since we know that television is a very powerful tool in the development of children, it is important for children, parents, and teachers to use television in a more conscious way. From the article, I thought that the Children’s Television Act was incredibly interesting. By extending educational programming and lessening advertisements, children will be less susceptible and more focused on the purpose of the program. The new rules and guidelines pertaining to the “Core Programs” truly benefit and serve educational and informational needs of adolescence.

Within the classroom, television can be maximized to it’s full potential. Having a viewing experience can engage the students in a new way and shift the atmosphere a little bit. Enhancing their visual and audio value will deepen the connection the students make with their material. Having an enjoyable, solid, and interesting video will keep the students engaged and passionate about what they are learning about. Watching short videos or movies in class are a great way to broaden student’s horizons about the topic they are exploring. Furthermore, it is important to step away from the textbook at times. Shifting the mediums of learning will help the students absorb and retain more valuable information that may be extremely boring with having a textbook constantly. Because television is such a huge part of life, it is necessary to use this to our advantage and find different, more exciting ways to capitalize on it just like we talked about with social media and educational video games.

Leave a Reply

