Roller Coaster Tycoon

When I was in middle school, my teacher would allow us to play Roller Coaster Tycoon as a reward. My peers and I absolutely loved playing this game. We would get very excited when our teacher allowed us to play. Back then I didn’t see much educational value to it. I thought it was just a fun game. However, looking back I realized that I was learning without even realizing it. This game incorporates science as well as marketing and budgeting. In the game, the player is able to create a virtual amusement park. Its important that the player understands budget. The game also teaches the player responsibility as the player needs to manage and oversee the park. I really had fun playing this game. If I was to incorporate it in my classroom I would be sure to point out to the students the educational components.

http://www.educationworld.com/a_tech/tech-in-the-classroom/roller-coaster-tycoon-3.shtml

Leave a Reply

